AFRIMMA Announces 2020 Winners, Slapdee & Bombsell fail to make the Cut


When the organizing body for AFRIMMA announced the theme of the 7th edition as ‘Destination Africa’, not many realized this was about to be the journey of a lifetime. History was made as the first African music awards to be held virtually aired on AFRIMMA YouTube page. It was a fun experience, a musical journey into the different parts of Africa hosted by WFAA’s Tashara Parker.

South African sensation with the viral hits emerged the biggest winner of the night, bagging the Artist of The Year Award, Song of The Year, Best Male Southern Africa as well as Best Collaboration with Burna Boy on Jerusalema remix.

With their second consecutive year as the title sponsor of the AFRIMMA awards and presenting sponsor of Artist of The Year, MAJORITY’s Co-founder and CEO, Magnus Larsson said “In light of all that we have collectively experienced this year, the AFRIMMA 2020 Awards means more than ever before. As a community focused company, we are extremely proud of being part in realizing this one-of-a-kind celebration of African excellence and look forward to elevating more of the ambitions that AFRIMMA shines a light on”.

There were simultaneous viewing parties in Dallas and Houston as the rest of the world joined in via YouTube. Anderson Obiagwu, Founder/CEO AFRIMMA was filled with delight and stated “There were initial doubts about pulling this off, but seeing we pulled this off today fills me with so much joy and I want to express my appreciation to our sponsors, the AFRIMMA team, the artists, dancers, video editors and everybody that played a part in making history today”. The AFRIMMA 2020 experience is one that can only be described as mind-blowing, a journey of a lifetime into the sounds of Africa.

AFRIMMA is the biggest African music award ceremony in Diaspora that creates a platform to promote the diversity of African music. Every year, top African talents across the world come on the same stage to celebrate African culture and music. However, this year due to impact of the pandemic the award had to go virtual and it was an outstanding success. Check out full winner’s list below.


Best Male Southern Africa

Black Coffee- South Africa

Slap Dee – Zambia

Cassper Nyovest- South Africa –

Master KG- South Africa – WINNER

Jah Prayzah – Zimbabwe

Vee Mampeezy – Botswana

Shyn – Madagascar

Tshego- South Africa

Tha Dogg – Namibia

Yanga Chief – South Africa

Best Male West Africa

Adekunle Gold – Nigeria

Sidiki Diabate – Mali

Davido– Nigeria

Kidi – Ghana

Burna Boy – Nigeria

Kuami Eugene – Ghana

Rema – Nigeria – WINNER 

Ariel Sheney – Ivory Coast

Wally Seck– Senegal

Fireboy- Nigeria

Best Female West Africa

Josey – Ivory Coast

Tiwa Savage – Nigeria

Zeynab – Benin

Yemi Alade – Nigeria

Yasmine- Guinea Bissau

Dior Mbaye – Senegal

Adina – Ghana

Teni – Nigeria

Aya Nakamura – Mali

Simi – Nigeria – WINNER 

Best Male East Africa

Eddy Kenzo – Uganda

Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania – WINNER

Harmonize – Tanzania

The Ben – Rwanda

Khaligraph Jones – Kenya

Gildo Kassa – Ethiopia

Mbosso – Tanzania

Rayvanny- Tanzania

Ali Kiba- Tanzania

Otile Brown – Kenya

Best Female East Africa

Nadia Mukami – Kenya

Vimka – Uganda

Zuchu – Tanzania

Maua Sama – Tanzania

Rosa Ree- Tanzania

Akothee- Kenya

Nandy – Tanzania – WINNER

Sheebah Karungi – Uganda

Fena Gitu (FenaMenal) – Kenya

Tanasha Donna – Kenya

Best Male Central Africa

Gaz Mawete – Congo

Matias Damiaso – Angola

Ninho – Congo

Anselmo Ralph – Angola

Innos’ B – Congo

TayC – Cameroon

Fally Ipupa – Congo – WINNER 

Dadju – Congo

C4 Pedro – Angola

BM – Congo

Best Female Central Africa

Reniss – Cameroon

Shan’L -Gabon

Daphne – Cameroon

Mayra Andrade – Cape Verde

Eva RapDiva- Angola

Liloca- Mozambique

Soraia Ramos- Cape Verde – WINNER

Charlotte Dipanda – Cameroun

Edmazia – Angola

Blanche Bailly – Cameroun

Best Female Southern Africa

Shasha – Zimbabwe

Sho Madjozi – South Africa – WINNER

Ammara Brown – Zimbabwe

Busiswa – South Africa

Shashl – Zimbabwe

Ami Faku – South Africa

Sally BossMadam – Namibia

Azana – South Africa

Gemma Griffiths – Zimbabwe

Elaine – South Africa

Best African Group

Sauti Sol – Kenya

Toofan – Togo

Navy Kenzo – Tanzania

Forca Suprema – Angola

Mi Casa- South Africa

4KEUS- Congo

Kiff No Beats – Ivory Coast

Moobers – Angola

Magic System- Cote d’ivoire

Umu Obiligbo- Nigeria – WINNER

Crossing Boundaries with Music Award

Burna Boy–Nigeria – WINNER

Aya Nakamura -Mali/France

Dave- Nigeria/UK

J Hus – Gambia


Mr Eazi – Nigeria

French Montana- Morocco

Headie One – Ghana/UK

S. Pri Noir – Guinea Bissau/France

NSG – Nigeria/Ghana/UK

Best Newcomer

Kofi Mole- Ghana

Fanicko- Benin

Omah Lay – Nigeria


Mc One – Cote d’ivoire

Edgar Domingos – Angola

J Derobie – Ghana

Ami Faku – South Africa

Zuchu – Tanzania – WINNER

Oxlade – Nigeria

Artist of The Year 

Burna Boy – (Nigeria)

Fally Ipupa- Congo

Davido – (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Sho Madjozi – South Africa

Wizkid -(Nigeria)

Aya Nakamura -Mali/France

Tiwa  Savage – Nigeria

Master KG– South Africa – WINNER

Toofan – Togo

BEST GOSPEL ARTIST – Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria) – WINNER 

BEST LIVE ACT – Flavour (Nigeria) – WINNER 

BEST MALE RAP ACT – Nasty C (South Africa) – WINNER 

BEST FEMALE RAP ACT – Eno Barony (Ghana) – WINNER 

 BEST COLLABORATION – Master KG ft Nomcebo Zikode & Burna Boy Jerusalema Remix – WINNER

 SONG OF THE YEAR – Master KG ft Nomcebo Zikode – Jerusalema – WINNER 


BEST DJ AFRICA – Cuppy (Nigeria) – WINNER 

BEST AFRICAN DJ USA – Fully Focus (Kenya) – WINNER 

VIDEO OF THE YEAR – Gaz Mawete ft Fally Ipupa – C’est Rate – WINNER 

 PRODUCER OF THE YEAR – Kabza De Small (South Africa) – WINNER 


 BEST LUSOPHONE – Calema (Cape Verde) – WINNER



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here